My Thought About Reading


As I live in this country, I’m trying to understand why people are so easy to jump to the conclusion about several issues. To get myself to that goal of mine, I start to read some ‘heavy’ books, because I need to get my brain relevant to the answer. I already read some books, but not that much because laziness and gaming still distract me a lot. But enough to make me understand a little bit about the answer. While I read, I talked to myself, “Wow, I know nothing about this world!”. And when I finish a book, I think that people will have some arguments to counter ideas that they encounter, until that debate stops at certain point when the road splits in two. A, when you win argument with people or yourself. B, when you can’t argue more with people or yourself. If you go to A, it’s good. You are actually reach at some point when your knowledge to work as a filter. But as Socrates said, “All I know is that I know nothing”. “You know nothing Jon Snow!”, said Ygritte. As you read more, you will understand that your knowledge is never enough. You will realize that a lot of people out there that way more knowledgeable than you. As an example of who are those people, the authors of the books that you read. If you go to B, just try to understand it. Nothing bad comes when you read a book. If it’s too hard, don’t worry. You must be good at something , right? People are not destined to be a master at everything. You still can ask people after your attempt to understand something. Some advice about asking something; don’t ask if you are not even trying to find the answer by yourself. People normally will be irritated if they find out that you don’t even put an effort to find the answer by yourself.

Read more so knowledge will help you have something to hold on, so knowledge will serve you as a filter in this world where information, ideology, philosophy, etc (what are the other kind of information?) can trigger a chaos, revolution (which is can be good or bad), or the worst; war. Read more so you have a new perspective to see our little world. Read more so your kids can ask you for your wisdom, so they can help their generations to be the best in the history of mankind. Happy National Book Day.

Leave a Reply

